Flag Garland tutorial by mahlicadesigns

Among my circle of friends, lots of babies are on the way. What a great way for me to combine my love for handmade and trying out some of the very cute ideas I’ve run across on Pinterest. (Follow me on Pinterest)

Here’s how I did it.

Supplies: Fabric quarters or larger scraps in assorted colors. Double fold binding about 40 in  long. Basic sewing supplies.

I wanted to make my finished flags 4 in across the base and 4 in at center height, so I drafted a paper board template with a 4.5 in base and a 4.5 in height and connected the sides. If you have a quilting ruler, it may be more efficient for you to use the marked angles on the ruler to make your triangles of your chosen size rather than make a paper board template.

I made my garland with 12 flags; purples on one side and pinks on the other.

Cut out a total of 24 triangles to make 12 finished flags. I cut out 12 purples and 12 pinks. Pair up your triangles right sides facing. Using a 1/4 in seam allowance, chain sew all your triangles along one side. Next, chain sew along the other side making sure your seam lines cross at the tip of your triangles. Grade and trim the seam allowances near the triangle points. Turn and press your flags. Top stitch around the outer edges.

About 10 in from the end of your binding, place and pin your first flag. Space your flags about 5 in from the beginning edge on one flag to the next.

Fold your binding in half lengthwise and begin sewing from one end. After sewing 2.5 in, stop with your needle down. Lift your presser foot and loop the top edge of your sewn binding around and fit it inside the still open binding. Continue sewing to make your loop and your garland.

Stop sewing 4 in from the end of your binding. Remove from your machine and trim your threads. Now, starting from the unsewn end of the binding, sew 2.5 in and repeat the process to make another loop. Continue sewing until you meet your original seam, back-stitch, remove, and trim your threads.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.