Bronte Top – Who Made It Best

Welcome back to Who Made It Best, a new series on mahlicadesigns.

Who Made It Best is a friendly challenge where one of my blogger friends joins me in making up the same pattern to see Who Made It Best. The challenge rules are simple: 1. We agree on a pattern to use 2. sew it up to suit our personal styles 3. share it with you and ask you to vote. (Oh, and we keep what we’re up to a secret from each other)

collage 1 label 3

Rachel from Sew RED-y has joined me in making up the Bronte Top from Jennifer Lauren Handmade for the challenge and you can check out her version here.

Bronte 2

This is my first try at making a Bronte Top and I’d say it’s only a so so try. I was between sizes and accidentaly cut the size smaller instead of the size up. I’m getting pulling and bunching on the shoulder overlap and the shoulder seam is pretty wonky. After I snapped these photos, I noticed I completely missed the instructions to tack them down to prevent this very problem.

Bronte close up

I’m not sure if I can get over the snug fit on this one. I feel like I prespire a lot, so tops that are snug under my arms make me very uncomfortable.

Bronte 4

On the bright side, I’m very pleased with this outfit. I’m a chicken when it comes to mixing prints, but I think these work well together.

Bronte offset label 1

So, who do you think made the Bronte Top best? Please visit Sew RED-Y for more pictures and details on her version, then place your vote for Who Made It Best. The poll will be on both sites, so you can see both versions before you choose your favorite. Voting open for one week and results will be posted on Instagram.

VOTE HERE

You can follow me on instagram, Bloglovin, or by entering your email in the right side bar.

As always, thanks for visiting and voting today.

If you’d like to join me in a challenge this fall, shoot me a message at mahlicadesigns@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “Bronte Top – Who Made It Best

  1. This has been a fun series Melissa! I’m sorry the top didn’t turn out as you wanted, but it’s really cute nonetheless. I think you should try it again for sure! I’m looking forward to our collaboration. I made a pj set to work out my idea, and it’s all I can do to keep it under wraps! 😉

    Like

  2. Both version are looking great so it’s hard to pick a favourite. I’ve never seen a Bronte dress before and it looks very smart. Your detailing with the contrast fabric is fab.

    Like

  3. I really enjoy these posts! The introduction pics are so cute and I always like to see how a pattern looks on various people. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

