Desert Isle Sew Tour with mahlicadesigns

Desert Isle teaser collage

Here’s this month’s thought provoking question from Sew20:

What one pattern would you want with you when stuck on a desert isle for a few weeks? Sewing supplies are unlimited.

I’m approaching from the perspective that I’m given an opportunity to spend a big chunk of time sewing while miraculously not needing to attend to food, water, shelter, or an escape plan. I guess all those episodes of Man VS. Wild won’t apply.

Initially I’m tempted by my stash patterns Simplicty 1430 or McCalls 6711. You can choose from tops, a dress, bottoms, and layering pieces. Big bang for your buck kind of patterns. I could stroll off that Desert Isle with a complete wardrobe.

Desert Isle pattern collage

I’ve already sewn up Cobalt Shorts, V Slit blouse, and charcoal shorts from S1430 and don’t feel I want to spend much more time with it right now.

S1430 collage

But wait, here’s another idea. The next big step in my sewing progression is to learn pant fitting. Simplicity 2562 is a good starter pattern for the process. The pattern has a variety of cuts to fit different shapes and supposedly walks through some fitting. I’m pretty sure I’ll get sick of sewing all pants all the time …

Simplicity 2562

 

So, McCalls 6711 is the winner! I want to walk away from my Desert Isle Sewing experience with a small capsule wardrobe and I can practice with those pants too.

Do you know what you’d bring along? I’d like to hear your thoughts in the comments.

Please visit the other bloggers in the tour to see what they have to say about their Desert Isle Sew.

sew20desertislandsew

Use #desertislandsew on social media to play along!

7/18 Sew 20 Tour Launch | Very Blissful | Lulu & Celeste | The Wholesome Mama

7/19 House of Estrela | FABulous Home Sewn | create3.5

7/20 Beri Bee Designs | mahlicadesigns

7/21 Rebel & Malice | Sew Starly | The Berry Bunch | Sewing By Ti

7/22 Candice Ayala | PenSeb&Rox | Mae & K | Sew 20 Social Media Round-up

7/25 Sew 20 Tour Wrap-up

5 thoughts on “Desert Isle Sew Tour with mahlicadesigns

Leave a Reply

