Real Life Real Sewing on mahlicadesigns

Real Llfe blog tour collage
There’s a discrepancy between the posed, polished and styled presentations we see on a lot of sewing blogs (o.k. not mine, but others) and the real daily life of sewing and wearing handmade, aptly referred to as The Sham of the Perfect. To strip away some of the false layer, today I’m going to be answering a few prompts about my process as part of the Real Life, Real Sewing blog tour hosted by Sew20.
What do you look for when choosing a sewing project?
I have a long list of things I want to sew and they pretty easily break down into two categories:  1. garments I want to make because I think they look cool and 2. garments I make because they serve some utility. When making my sewing plans I try to strike a balance between working from these two categories so that sewing stays fun and creative. Sometimes I have a small victory when the two happily meet.

Real life sewing collage

I’d like to look polished and cool wearing this funky jacket from BurdaStyle, but I reach for soft and comfortable like my Jasper Sweater from Paprika Patterns.
Is there anything you would like to (or wish you could) do differently when selecting projects?
I’m try to grow my blog followers by participating in a variety of sewcial activities; often when I choose to do these,  my sewing list gets rearranged and projects that I am excited about get pushed back. I took some time recently to reflect on how I’m approaching my sewing and hope to strike a more satisfying balance.
I’m also very guilty of making pieces without considering what I’m going to wear it with. I really need to focus on building outfits.

Real Life Sewing Utility collage

Recent makes from my utilitarian category that jumped the sewing queue. Not terribly exciting.
What is your most used/worn sewing project? 
My Jasper Sweater, Ann T, and Union St tee are what I reach for most. They are easy to wear but are also indicative of my wardrobe dilemma. I want to look polished, but I reach for comfy.

Real Life Sewing Most Worn Makes collage

Do you have a project that you thought would be used/worn frequently but just did not end up working out?
When I created my reversible Pin Peg Mini skirt I thought I had nailed it with creating a piece that could work all year round and had that edgy look that I like, but I’ve only worn it once. The skirt is meant to be body skimming but the two layers of fabric feel thick and it’s a little loose at the waist. My plan is to take it apart, take it in, and separate it out into two better fitting skirts.

Real Life Sewing Pin Peg collage

What is your favorite tip or quote that applies to sewing for real life?
Take your time and do it right! – I cringe at a lot of my early sewing projects because I took shortcuts to save on fabric or time and the results are sooo evident. Poor fit and poorly constructed are written all over them. These were not rookie mistakes, they were just bad decisions. Taking the extra time, using the right notions, and making test muslins have improved my sewing results more than I can measure.

Do you have any examples of Real Life, Real Sewing to show off?

You can play along by using the #realliferealsewing on social media. You can also win one of two $25 gift cards. More details at Sew 20.

6/20 | Sew 20 Tour Kick-off | The Wholesome Mama | Wild & Wanderful | Randoms by Rydz

6/21 | Daydream Believers | Sugarplum Cuties | Friends Stitched Together | The Inspired Wren | PenSeb&Rox

6/22 | Sewstarly | Very Blissful | House of Estrela | The Berry Bunch | Musings of a Seamstress

6/23 | mahlicadesigns | sewingbyti | Candice Ayala | Call Ajaire | Sunflower Seams

6/24 | Beri Bee Designs | Lulu & Celeste | FABulous Home Sewn | Mae & K | Sew 20 Social Media Round-up

6/25 | Sew 20 Tour Wrap-up

10 thoughts on “Real Life Real Sewing on mahlicadesigns

  1. I can definitely relate about needing to focus more pieces that can be part of a wardrobe. I’ve managed to reign it in this year when sewing for the kids but what little sewing I do for myself tends to be random.

    Like

  2. I’m guilty of wanting to look sharply styled but always reaching for the comfy too. Jasper is probably my favourite garment right now. Good luck sorting out the fabrics on that skirt – they look worth making the effort for.

    Like

  3. I had to learn the hard way that one MUST TAKE time to do things neatly. haha, When I first started sewing I rushed thru my projects because I wanted to see the finish so bad. BIG MISTAKE! lol – Now I totally obsess about clean finishes and doing all the steps properly. Great read!

    Like

  4. Really lovely hear a different view of sewing, I always find myself reaching for the comfy and practical items I’ve made which is frustrating as they’re the things that didn’t take as long to make compared to a shirt dress I’ve slaved over.

    Like

  5. Thanks for sharing this! Had a few chuckles because of how relatable this is. I like the comparison of the runway looking jacket vs. Jasper sweater (which looks cute and comfy btw). I tend to gravitate towards really fancy dress patterns but know better than to take all the time making it for one or no time wear. I find that making nice basics and wearing them all the time is more satisfying. And on sewcial sewing, not only do projects shift, but at least for me sometimes I find myself scrambling to meet deadlines and then the quality suffers? I think I’m most surprised on the project that didn’t turn out as expected though because that skirt you can wear inside out is one of my favorite of your makes! Hope they’ll safely make it into two separate skirts haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the thoughtful and encouraging response. I’m glad to hear I’m not out in the wind here. Now I really want to get that skirt fixed. I loved both those fabrics and the style.

      Like

Leave a Reply

