Happy Fathers Day! Star Wars Style.

June is for Dads

For Father’s Day I did something very special for my Dearest, I actually sewed something for him for the first time.

The idea of making something for my man has been out there for a while; but with him being well stocked on shirts and me saying no way to sewing him jeans, we were at a bit of an impasse. Thankfully what he recently requested was going to be an easy start into sewing for men, some pajama shorts.

Star Wars pjs by mahlicadesigns

The Pattern: Pajama Bottoms from 5 out of 4 Patterns is a free unisex pattern, comes in different options for length, pockets, and regular or low rise waist. I made the size medium shorts with a drawstring and no pockets. These run super long, so I shortened them by 3in.

The fabric: One of the many Star Wars cotton fabrics available at Joanns and similar stores. I knew the options for boyish fabrics at my local store was pretty sad, but it’s even worse for men. Yikes. I’m so glad my hubby digs Star Wars.

Star Wars pjs by mahlicadesigns

His opinion: They go on like a bucket, but I like the fabric.

Translation: There is a lot of fabric gathered at the waist. Next time, I’ll cut a smaller waist and grade out to the hip for a less boxy fit.

My opinion: I think he looks great in most everything. He’s the one and only for me.

Star Wars pjs by mahlicadesigns

Today I’m joining Ti from Sewing by Ti for the June is for Fathers blog tour. Take a look at her blog post today and her other posts this month to see what Ti’s been making for her man.

One thought on “Happy Fathers Day! Star Wars Style.

Leave a Reply

