Fancy Tiger One Hour Top for Diving into Dolmans blog tour

Dive Into Dolmans 3

One Hour Top by mahlicadesigns

Today I’m sharing the One Hour Top from Fancy Tiger Crafts as part of the Diving into Dolmans blog tour hosted by Sewing By Ti. Ti has put together bloggers of all shapes to show how this style top can work for every body shape.

Sewing by Ti as an Inverted Triangle
The Creative Counselor as an hourglass/small pear
Made By Melli as an apple
Sew Sophie Lynn as a rectangle.

Guest bloggers:
Dos Natural Sistas (spoon)
Rebel and Malice (pear)
Sew Far North (apple)
Mahlica Designs (pear)
Lulu and Celeste (inverted triangle)
Adventures with Bubba and Bug (hourglass)

I just love my dolman style Georgia Tops (here and here), so it was only natural that I would want to try another pattern and expand my dolman love. Unfortunately, I did not find true love a second time. I think we’re more of a “like-like” status.

Fancy Tiger One Hour Top by mahlicadesigns

Fancy Tiger One Hour Top by mahlicadesigns

The blandly named One Hour Top is a loose fitting top with a 3/4 length dolman sleeve. True to it’s name, the top goes together very quickly. The instructions are easy and straight forward to follow. I did change one step. Instead of folding over the neckline by 1/2in and stitching down as instructed, I used a clean finish binding. Even with the extra time needed for the neater neckline finish, I still finished in under an hour.

Fancy Tiger Dolman by mahlicadesigns

I found this really cool ponte knit on the clearance rack at Hancock Fabrics, but it was a bit shy of the needed length, so I added a color block band at the bottom to make it a decent length on me. As is usual for me, I had to shorten the sleeves just a bit to hit at the right place.

Fancy Tiger One Hour Top by mahlicadesigns

Fancy Tiger One Hour Top by mahlicadesigns

I was worried that a dolman without a fitted band at the bottom would look really slouchy, but that turned out just fine. The overall fit is just not love for me, as roomy as this is supposed to be, I’m getting drag lines down the front. I often need a FBA, but honestly didn’t think I would need it with as much ease as the pattern has built in. I’ll pass on making this one again. You may have better luck.

Fancy Tiger One Hour Top by mahlicadesigns

Fancy Tiger One Hour Top by mahlicadesigns

Some things to consider about the One Hour Top:

Sizes XS/S to XL/XXL (32/34 to 42/45)
Printable pattern pages/copy shop version 18 (no copy shop)
Skill Level Beginner
Measurements for Rectangle Pieces NA
Line Drawings Yes
Size made XS/S
Options chosen NA
Fabric Requirement for your size 1 ½ (1 ¾ stated in pattern)
Measurement Chart Bust Waist Hip
Cutting Instructions Yes
Pattern Printing Layout Yes
Cutting Layout Yes
Suggested Fabrics Medium weight knits
Layer Printing Option No
Neck Line Options No
Sleeve Options No
Hem Options No
Color Blocking No
Seam Allowance ½ inch
Hem Allowance ½ inch
Separate add-on pack No
Fit Loose
Easy to read instructions Yes
Drawing or photograph instructions Drawings

 

12 thoughts on “Fancy Tiger One Hour Top for Diving into Dolmans blog tour

  1. I think it looks pretty good on you, it hits you at just the right length. Pretty crazy I have a RTW cropped bolero type thing that I bought 10+ years ago in that exact fabric, I like the fabric but not the bolero part, lol so it’s been waiting for me to cut it up for one of my kiddos for a while now.

    Like

  2. I like the sleeves (they are bit narrow, but better than uber wide!)
    I also like the hip band. Maybe its just because these tops are a square shape, that they don’t look great? That said, it does make your bum look fab!! So all is not lost!

    Like

  3. I agree, it is good, just not great. I did an FBA on the Jalie Dolman and it was a huge pain, but well worth getting rid of the strange drag lines. I do however really like the fabric and I don’t think you should throw it out. Maybe just save it for laundry day.🙂

    Like

  4. This is one I have been meaning to try. I actually don’t think it looks bad, but I prefer more length on dolmans. I do like the shape/length of the sleeve.

    Like

  5. Bummer that you didn’t like it. I think it looks really cute on you, but I can see the drag lines. An FBA on a dolman pattern just seems like such a pain!

    Like

Leave a Reply

