Matilda VS. Sloan leggings: Pattern Showdown Series

Welcome back to VS.

A series here at mahlicadesigns with the aim of pairing similar styles against each other in a friendly showdown to see which pattern better suits me, all while working through my pattern stash. (Overview here)

Today we’re switching gears over to leggings.

 

 Sloan leggings from Hey June Handmade

Sloan VS. Matilda 3 square collage

Matilda leggings from Spit Up & Stilettos (download)**

Sloan VS Matilda 1

The Sloan leggings (view B) are a contoured legging with a shaped waistband. Sizing options are included for petite, regular, and tall in addition to the regular, capri and 3/4 length style lines. I used ponte knits with just a little stretch, so I chose my size based on my hip measurement.  The pieced waistband gave me the opportunity to colorblock my front waistband to use up some smaller scraps. I have a few fitting adjustments I’d make to remove a little poofiness from the front rise and a little bit of sag below my bottom. I’m pretty sure that using the suggested stretchy fabrics with recommended smaller size may eliminate these adjustments.

Sloan VS. Matilda 3

The Matilda Leggings are a basic silhouette with rectangular waistband. The rise on these is really short, so I added 1in front and back and would add another 1/2in to the back next time. Only two pattern pieces makes it quick to cut out and quick to sew; but only one piece for the body makes it more challenging to adjust the fit. I probably need to do a full bottom adjustment, but will only be able to adjust the rise to accommodate.  The pattern also seems to be proportioned for a uncurvy shape. I used a standard jersey knit. (See a more thorough review here).

Sloan V Matilda 2

Now let’s compare

Instructions.

Sloan: Thorough and easy to understand instructions with good diagrams. Good tips on picking your correct size and fabrics. I appreciated the tip on adding elastic to the waistband.

Matilda: Straight forward and easy instructions with pictures. The sample in the pictures are in black fabric. Not very helpful, but even a novice sewer can do these with out the pictures.

 

Fit.

Sloan: Size Large based on hip measurement and fabric with little stretch. Other than the fitting adjustments mentioned above, the fit is comfortable and nicely shaped. I may make the waist band shorter next time. It just seams a little out of proportion on me.

Matilda: Size medium. I found them to run a tad small at the hip and not as fitted from the knee down. The rectangular waistband feels a little loose. I would recommend fabrics with 25-50% stretch and good recovery.

Style.

Sloan: Good seam lines, nice shaping, multiple lengths, and color mixing options. A modern look ideal for casual dressing or athletic wear.

Matilda: Good basic legging.

Investment.

Sloan: 1.75 hours to make, fabric $6, pattern $6.95*, about 1.5yd @ 60in wide

Matilda:  1 hour to make, fabric $8, pattern free, about 1yd @ 60in wide

Opportunities.

Sloan: Color blocking galore, but I really wouldn’t want to mess around with the pattern’s design lines

Matilda: Significant time investment to adjust fit and pattern hack.

.

For me, the Sloan is the winner. They just feel comfortable everywhere, the pattern is well designed and you can do so much with it.

Sloan 7

*$6.95 was my price through Up Craft Club for the Sloan leggings.

**Spit Up and Stilettos has rebranded to Sadi & Sam; a kids pattern company. Sadly for us, all their free womans patterns have disappeared from the internet. Sadi & Sam have given me permission to share the Matilda pattern with you. Download Here.

5 thoughts on “Matilda VS. Sloan leggings: Pattern Showdown Series

Leave a Reply

