4 Tips for sewing Big Time for Holi-Daze week.

Every now and then we are blessed with an extra long holiday weekend, so I’d like to share my strategies to help maximize your sewing time.

Tip #1 Make your plan

I peruse my Pinterest boards and my “to list” to focus in on what I want to work on. I try to pick items that are similar enough that I can work through them quickly without having to think too much about what I’m doing. Be realistic about how much time you have and how much you can get done.

Tip #2 Be Prepared

Get your patterns traced & cut, fabrics washed, & make sure you have the notions required. Get organized. Put your patterns together with their fabric and notions.

Tip #3 Batch your processes

Do all your cutting at once. If you’re making multiples of one pattern, layer the fabrics and cut them at the same time. Sew similar seams at the same time. If you’re making a pile of tees for example, sew all the shoulder seams in your stack then sew in all the sleeves in your stack and so on.

Tip #4 Be Speedy

Chain stitch and skip the pins if you can. If you can stand to, don’t trim your threads as you go, instead have a trimming session as the last step. Avoid re-threading your machines, instead use neutral thread colors that can work on most or all of your projects. I use gray thread by the cone-full. (Check out Sarah‘s tips for Speedy Sewing)

Bonus Tip:  Say No To UFOs

To make my sewing room UFO free has been a give and take process. A couple years ago I committed to making one project at a time, from cut to finish, and have almost entirely eliminated new UFOs. I do not pre-cut multiple projects (unless I know I’m absolutely committed to making them) knowing that I give up some efficiency in my sewing time, but I gain the freedom to change my mind about the next project on my list.

The only hitch in my “No To UFOs” plan is occasionally running into an issue that I cannot solve without some input. I give myself the freedom to start and finish another project while getting help on the problem and then I finish it off.

So,

Are you wondering what I made over the holiday weekend? Well to be honest, not very much. Weekends are family time and rarely do I get to sewing, but I did finish a Jalie Drop Pocket Cardigan for my Core Wardrobe.

Drop Pocket Cardigan 1
Drop Pocket Cardigan from Jalie patterns
9 thoughts on “4 Tips for sewing Big Time for Holi-Daze week.

  1. Great Post! My 2 tips for the week ahead of the binge-sewing weekend:
    1) Clear the sewing room of previous project leftovers.
    2) Make sure the serger is threaded and ready to go. (this can ‘sometimes’ waste hours for me in the middle of a project and can grind things to a halt.)
    🙂 Chris

    Like

  2. If you want big uninterrupted blocks of time during the weekend in which to sew, I think it also helps to put in some extra time during the week to get other things out of the way. For example, since I’m the cook in my house, I plan a slow cooker meal for my sewing day. Since I also do most of the cleaning, I try to get ahead on that before the weekend. If I start household chores on Saturday morning, it’s easy to spend the whole day on that and never get to sewing!

    Like

    1. I’m thankful that as a stay at home mom it’s not so much the caching up of housework that takes over the weekends, it’s more that I don’t want to miss out on spending time with my husband and son. You make a good point though about planning and prioritizing to make space for the things you want to do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

