Sew Long Summer-Meet the Co-Hosts and giveaway

SewLongSummer badgeSew Long Summer our brand new Sew Along is starting soon and we’re very excited to see what you’ve been making and to share what we’ve been up to. Four lovely ladies have joined me in working behind the scenes to make this a fun event. Be sure you’re following all of our pages so you don’t miss anything.

Melissa portraitHi I’m Melissa, of mahlicadesigns. I’m a stay at home mother of a three year old. Sewing is my creative outlet and escape from toddler craziness.

I’ve been sewing in earnest for about seven years after making a baby quilt (on a garage sale machine-it was a hot mess) for a friend. I was hooked. Quilting was my focus for a few years before making the switch over to garment sewing primarily. I had a few blips of sewing experience in 4H and also made my wedding dress. Don’t be impressed, my mother did most of the work.

My primary focus for now is getting a Core Wardrobe put together and making pieces that work well together and fit my shape.

Please meet…

Elizabeth MadeThis portrait

I’m Elizabeth of elizabethmadethis.com.  I live in Colorado, and I’m completely dotty for sewing.  I started out draping dolls as a child in my own hand-sewn creations that were made from scraps in my Mom’s fabric bag.  I continued sewing by hand growing up, making accessories for my violin, several twin-sized yoyo quilts, and a rather funky vest made from yoyos in 7th grade.  When I got married and hand-sewed 5 yards of stamped fabric into curtains for our apartment, I figured a sewing machine would be a great deal more efficient.

I bought my beloved Janome and have since sewn mountains of fabric into garments and items for my home.  I love the challenge of taking a flat piece of fabric and transforming it into a beautiful, three-dimensional garment alive with color and texture.

As a mom of three sons and a wife of a husband known for accidentally felting all of my wool garments, my clothes and the ones I stitch up for the boys are inherently practical.  If it’s not washable, it’s not in my closet.  I sew hardwearing basics with tons of added detail that comes in the form of embroidery, pattern-hacking, DIY elements, and novel fabric and pattern combinations.  I’m always looking for ways to improve my skills and infuse as much creativity as possible into my work.

My life as a former elementary music teacher and my life-long passion for writing compel me to write about sewing in a way that will help others grow more confident in your sewing.  I’ve learned to sew from the ground up, and I want to teach others to do the same.

My work has appeared in Seamwork Magazine (Aug 2015) & Altered Couture (TBD) .

Sarah musingsofaseamstressHey everybody!  I am Sarah of Musings of a Seamstress.  I started sewing as a kid by hand stitching Barbie clothes out of my sister and I’s old clothes.  I am the only one in my family who can actually sew though.  I didn’t start sewing again until middle school home ec classes.  True story, I failed my high school sewing class, but only because a secretary threw away my project because she thought it was scraps.  Tells you something about how it must have looked.  Even with that I went on to get my bachelors degree in apparel design.

I now work full time as a technical designer for a show choir manufacturer.  I spend my days making patterns, grading patterns, test sewing, and writing instructions.  I love it!! I also spend my after work hours drafting my own patterns that I eventually want to release under my own indie pattern label.

Cindy portrait

My name is Cindy of  http://www.cindyparrett.com I’m an Education Counselor for college students during the day,  mother to 2 amazing kids (10 y/o girl  & 4 y/o boy) by night. I am a Military Veteran and a Military Spouse. I love to travel and thanks to the Military I get to go for free. We are currently living in Hawaii.
Sewing is not only a creative outlet but on some days a stress reliever.  I’ve learned how to sew like some of you hand sewing Barbie clothes for my little sister. I learned the basics of machine sewing in high school and if it wasn’t for my amazing teacher I think I would have sworn off sewing then. My final project was a Christmas stocking with my name hand stitched. I am proud to say I still have this stocking and still put it up every year for Christmas.

Ashley portrait

I’m Ashley, www.sewnbyashley.com.  I started sewing as a child for 4H, and picked it up a few up again a few years ago.  I mostly sew for myself (selfish I know).  Sewing for me is a way to feel creative, as I work in an administrative position.

You’ll want to follow each of the hosts to see all that we’re doing for the sew along, and let’s have a little fun in the process.

Giveaway!

We have put together a Sewist’s Prize Package with all sorts of goodies you’ll love. How do Fiskar’s scissor sharpeners, a My Pad needle keeper, a $20 Joann Fabric gift card, and few little surprises sound? Great.

Get your entries in the Rafflecopter widget/link below.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

9/22/15 UPDATE: The giveaway is now closed, but you can still be a winner by submitting your makes in the Summer Crush and Fabulous Fall contests.

4 thoughts on “Sew Long Summer-Meet the Co-Hosts and giveaway

Leave a Reply

