Charcoal Shorts S1430 for Core Wardrobe building

I got lucky with a good fit on my Cobalt Shorts using simplicity 1430, so I decided to make one more pair in charcoal to fill out the shorts portion of my summer core wardrobe.

Charcoal Shorts by mahlicadesignsToo bad luck doesn’t strike twice. I used a reversible bottom weight in a poly blend from Joann’s. Its a classic and more dressy looking fabric, but I had a harder time with fitting since it has no stretch.

Here are the shorts almost done.

Charcoal Shorts pullingThere’s a little pulling across the front and gapping pockets. From the side you can see the too tight seat is pulling at the hip which is distorting the front.

Charcoal Shorts pulling I let out the center back seam as much as I could for only a minor improvement. I was too lazy to unpick the side seams for a little more help.

Charcoal Shorts by mahicadesignsYeah, not as slimming as one would hope. I guess rear pockets may be in order the next time I feel daring enough to try pants or shorts again.

A few details:

Simplicity 1430 view D size 12. The pattern calls for 1 1/4yrd. For both versions I made used closer to 3/4 yrd.

I narrowed the leg by grading the width at the inseam from 5/8in at the crotch to 1in wide at the hem.

I spent a little extra time cutting out each piece individually to make sure the stripe of the fabric was lined up properly. I used a printed quilting cotton instead for the pocket facing to reduce bulk. (The wrong side of the fabric was a hounds tooth, interesting)

pocket detail

I made a small position adjustment so the top of the zipper would not peak out like on my last version. Next time, I need to take into account that a little wider zipper overlap is needed when using a thicker fabric.

Charcoal Shorts by mahlicadesigns

Simplicity 1430 view D should take you about 6 hours.

Fabric $12*   Zipper $1.50*   Pattern from stash    Total Cost: $13.50

*Price after using discount coupons.

SewYourPatternStashSq213

8 thoughts on “Charcoal Shorts S1430 for Core Wardrobe building

  1. They look nice but I understand. Shorts/pants can be a bitch! I usually use fabric with some stretch to kinda help out a bit. If you want a GREAT shorts pattern try the Maritime Shorts pattern by Grainline Studio. I really loved mine and they reminded me of ready to wear shorts. Mine don’t fit anymore so I’m wanting to make another pair🙂

    Like

  2. I love these shorts! I don’t have that particular pattern but I have a few shorts patterns laid out trying to decide which one to make. Thanks so much for linking up at the #StitchItBlogItShareIt Link Party!

    Like

  3. These shorts look lovely, well done! I have only made a simple skirt for myself and haven’t been brave enough to try any other clothes yet but that is the long term goal as I learn to sew.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

