Cobalt Shorts Simplicity 1430 Core Wardrobe part 7

I took a small jump into making pants by starting with a pair of shorts. I got really lucky that these ended up needing very little alteration, and a good thing too, since I have no idea what I’m doing on that score. I hope my next try later this year will go so well.

100_3910These shorts are Simplicity 1430. I saw Erica B work up a pair that looked really cute and took a chance. That was last September.

Things were going pretty well, I had just enough of this cobalt cotton sateen to eek out the pieces, I used this cotton batik from my stash for the pocket lining and it turned out cute,

100_3745fit was looking good as I tried them on frequently, I think I almost nailed the fly zipper,

100_3919then… I attached the waistband and everything got shot to, well you know.

Eek
Yikes

Sorry, should have given you warning about that pic.

I altered the width of the inseam seam allowance by grading it from 5/8 at the crotch out to 1in at the hem line. I don’t have skinny thighs, the pattern was just bulky there for me. I resewed that back seam many times trying to get a better fit on the bottom and just could not make it work. So my solution was to park the shorts in my UFO pile.

Now that spring is upon us, I decided just to finish them off and hope I lose a couple of pounds so they will fit better.

100_3916I don’t know why they fit better now, I don’t feel thinner (I don’t weigh myself), they just do. Lucky for me. Bonus, these are in a color I’m leaning toward for my core wardrobe.

100_3915A few details:

Simplicity 1430 view D. I thinned the leg width at the inseam and added 1in of length. This was my first try at a fly zipper and other than the zipper peeking out a bit at the top I think I did a pretty good job for a first time. I used a blind hem stitch and it was the right call with the cotton sateen.

I’d make this pattern again for shorts, but I think I’d have to thin out the legs too much for the pants version. I have another pattern I’m going to try for my first leap into pant making.

Simplicity 1430 view D should take you about 6 hours.

14 thoughts on “Cobalt Shorts Simplicity 1430 Core Wardrobe part 7

  1. I’m glad a little time (for whatever reason!) and your attention to detail made these eventually work for you! This is one of my favorite colors for bottoms – a little nicer than denim, not as pale as khaki, but still super versatile. Thanks, again, for linking up!

    Like

  2. Nice shorts – glad that a little time (for some reason) and your attention to detail made them eventually work out for you! This is one of my favorite colors for bottoms – a little nicer than denim but still super versatile. Thanks, again, for linking up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

