Orange Zip Skirt Simplicity 2451

I came across this vintage zipper from my grandmother in my stash and thought I’d use it as an exposed zipper in a project. I was drifting off to sleep, often when inspiration hits me, when I thought about pairing it with this cotton sateen I saw at Joann fabrics.

100_3887

I was hoping this knit red top would be a natural outfit, but meh, I’m liking it much better with this blue blouse.

100_3893

I’ve sewn up Simplicity 2451 view B in the past and really like how it fits me, so I chose view D feeling confident on a good fit. I had to lengthen the back darts an additional 3/8in for a better fit, but nothing else needed alteration.

100_3894

A couple new techniques for me on this skirt. I sewed the exposed zipper using this tutorial from Pattern Runway as a guide, next time I might try to figure out how to encase the end of the zipper tape for a nicer interior finish. I also used a stretch lace hem tape for the first time. I wanted to avoid the bulk of a double folded hem and keep as much length as I could. The tape worked perfectly.

Overall I’m pretty pleased with my Orange Zip skirt. The fit at the waistline and hips is spot on. On the down side, the cotton sateen is a bit stiff at the front pleats and poofs out a bit more than I’d like, but that’s not going to stop me from wearing it.

100_3892
Awkward arm posing

Here’s to more stash busting. I used a pattern, zipper, and hem tape from my stash.

SewYourPatternStashSq213

Simplicity 2451 View D should take you about 2.75 hours to complete.

14 thoughts on “Orange Zip Skirt Simplicity 2451

  1. Looks sharp! And how cool to have something from your grandmas stash and use it in a “today” item of clothing for your wardrobe. The blue blouse is well done too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

