Curtain Challenge

I just finished up some curtains for my brother-in-law and sister-in-law. They purchased an older home, built long before the modern love of closets, so they built a closet into a small alcove in their bedroom and will hang the long curtain panels as the closure.

The challenge for me was that the fabric provided necessitated that I sew two pieces together vertically to make each panel. So, how to make a long vertical seam line look intentional? I thought about how to use the narrower vertical piece as an accent or border in some way, but honestly did not want to invest the amount of time needed to design and execute some sort of fabric painting or printing.  I landed on an idea to use running stitches with embroidery thread, and sketched out a simple geometric pattern that I thought would work with some of the southwest and Ikat design elements and colors in the room.

100_3286

I also wanted to use this project as an opportunity to try French seams and mitered corners, techniques I had not used before. These took a little longer but definitely made the finished project much nicer.

100_3288

One thought on “Curtain Challenge

Leave a Reply

