Pieced Coasters

After moving into a new home last summer, the list of little things we need just doesn’t seem to get any shorter, even after making some coasters this week.

100_3360

I’m sure you’ve seen coasters like these all over Pinterest and I believe there’s a book out there with instructions, but who needs that.

I used a pieced strip that was extra from a quilt project, reworked it a bit to get 4.25in squares and then cut them into 4.25in circles. I grabbed some 4in felt circles that were in my UFO stack for something else and used those for the batting. I also used up a few additional scraps for the backs.

I’m sure this never happens to you, but when they were all finished I had an oh shoot moment. Look how the yellow-green of the single fold binding is too light.

100_3355

Thankfully, I happened to have my fabric paints out for another project I’m working on. With about ten minutes of TV time I had the binding all fixed up.

100_3359

I didn’t keep track of my time like I usually do, but this project should take you an afternoon.

One thought on “Pieced Coasters

Leave a Reply

