The Polly Top

I’ve had a really productive month, so stay tuned for future posts featuring some of my work.  It feels great to get some UFOs (unfinished objects) knocked out, to work on some stash busters, and to wrap up some of the mending and utility sewing that just piles up.

I came across this little cutie while scouring Pinterest for top patterns to give my summer wardrobe a little pick up.

100_3314

This is the Polly Top, a free pattern download from By Hand London.

I was drawn to the simplicity of the silhouette and wanted to try out how the shaped piecing of the contrasting front worked instead of darting around the bust.

100_3313

I chose these silkie fabrics to use up some of my stash and hoped it would be a good layering piece under my monk collar jacket.

For the top edge of the contrasting front piece to fall on my bust in a flattering way, I had to shorten the shoulder strap length about 1.5 inches and adjusted the underarm scythe down about an inch also. Pretty easy fitting.

100_3315

The neck and arms are finished with bias binding of the same material. I pressed my binding in half and then again with the edges folded in to make it easier to attach and fold over the raw edges of the top. This was well worth the extra few minutes of pressing time, since I’m certain it gave me a much neater result. The whole project took me just under four hours.

I’m definitely going to use this pattern again to make another summer top in a light weight cotton.

Leave a Reply

